A variety of scholarships are available to SAET students. Some are only available to students in our school. Students must apply by the advertised deadline and meet all criteria for consideration.

Dwight David Eisenhower Fellowship

The Dwight David Eisenhower Fellowship is for Division of Engineering Technology students. Funded by the US Department of Transportation, students can receive up to $10,000, including stipend and travel funds. Contact the Director of the Division of Engineering (doreen.kobelo for more information.
Deadline for this award is April 26, 2024 at 11:59 p.m.
For more information click here.

SAET Office of Civil Rights Scholarships

Funded through the Legislature of the State of Florida, the FAMU SAET Office of Civil Rights Scholarships are for undergraduate architecture students with a minimum 3.0/4.0 GPA. The awards are distributed through the Office of Student Financial Aid and are contingent upon funding level and applicant pool.
Click Here To Download Scholarship Form (PDF.Format)

Latin and Caribbean Scholarship

The Latin and Caribbean Scholarship provides international students, from certain countries, with tuition at the rate of a Florida resident. Contact the SAET Director of Student Services ( for more information.
Click Here To Download Scholarship Form (PDF.Format)

Clemons Rutherford Associates (CRA)

A Tallahassee firm, Clemons Rutherford Associates (CRA), established a scholarship for undergraduate architecture students who transfer from a Florida community collegeThe one-time award is equally distributed during the fall and spring semesters. Contact the SAET Director of Student Services ( for more information.

Rhodes + Brito Architects Scholarship

An Orlando firm, Rhodes + Brito Architects, established a scholarship for sophomore architecture students. Ruffin Rhodes, AIA, and Maximiano (Max) Brito, AIA, are both FAMU alumni. The R+B scholarship is a one-time award, distributed during the spring semester. Contact the SAET Director of Student Services ( for more information.

Wells Fargo – Supplier Diversity Scholarship

The Wells Fargo – Supplier Diversity Scholarship is an annual scholarship that supports two (2) undergraduate SAET Construction Engineering Technology students for $5000.00 each. Contact the Director of the Division of Engineering (doreen.kobelo for more information. 

While the following scholarships are not limited to FAMU students, SAET students are encouraged to apply.


AIA/Architects Foundation Diversity Advancement Scholarship

The AIA/Architects Foundation Diversity Advancement Scholarship was Established in 1969.  This program awards a $4,000 renewable scholarship to at least three first- or second-year undergraduate students attending a NAAB program.

a/e ProNet Scholarship

The a/e ProNet Scholarship provides two $5,000 awards for students interested in practice management.

Association For Women In Architecture Scholarship

The Association for Women in Architecture Foundation offers annual cash awards to women students studying Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Urban and/or Land Planning, Interior Design, or Environmental Design leading to a college degree.

Diversity Advancement Scholarships

Diversity Advancement Scholarships provides up to $20,000 for ethnically diverse students, entering, transferring into or in 1st or 2ndyear of the program

Gensler Scholarships

Over the last 20 years, our scholarships programs have supported the education of emerging design talent, with nearly $200,000 being awarded in the last year alone. Gensler offers several different programs in the U.S. annually for architecture students.

LFRT ARE Scholarship

The LFRT ARE scholarship provides funding, study materials and membership dues for Black Assoc. AIA or NOMA members pursuing licensure.

Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship

Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship provides $10,000 for 3rd, 4th, or graduate female student 

Robert P. Madison Scholarship in Architecture

As the first African American registered to practice architecture in Ohio, Robert P. Madison made history. The Robert P. Madison Scholarship Fund was established in 2004 to encourage African American youth to aspire to a career in architecture. The general award amount is $1,000. 

SmithGroup Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI) Scholarship Program

This scholarship includes a one-time award of $6,000 to offset the student's tuition at their current academic institution (5 scholarships are awarded each year). Additionally, the scholarship recipients serve as paid summer interns at SmithGroup offices across the United States (internship is a program requirement).

SOM Foundation

The SOM Foundation supports individuals with the highest design aspirations to achieve excellence. The awards support students and faculty of architecture, landscape architecture, interior architecture, urban design, and engineering to undertake rigorous interdisciplinary research that can help shape our future.

The Tradewell Fellowship

The Tradewell Fellowship offers future healthcare architects an exceptional career-building opportunity. Fellows are immersed in the healthcare architecture design field and can continue their education with an individual healthcare architecture research topic of their choice.  For more info, visit

Yann Weymouth Scholarship

The Yann Weymouth Scholarship based on the AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence provides $5,000 and mentorship from Yann for a graduate student focusing at the intersection of resilience and beauty.

ZGF Scholarship

The mission of the scholarship is to recognize and support students who demonstrate a talent and passion for architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, and urban planning.

Additional scholarships are listed on the "Study Architecture" website



Contact Us

FAMU School of Architecture and Engineering Technology
Walter Smith Building
1938 S. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
Tallahassee, Florida 32307
(850) 599 3244
(850) 599 3535